Curriculum for Wales

The all-Wales partnership team is charged with designing the new Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLE), including progression steps, achievement outcomes, and assessment and reporting arrangements.


This is a very exciting time for us all Schools.


A new curriculum for Wales

A new curriculum for Wales will be developed with education professionals across Wales with the aim of it being available to settings and schools by September 2021.


Schools will have some flexibility in determining how and when they begin first teaching of the new curriculum. The ambition is that by 2021 settings and schools will be using the new curriculum to underpin teaching and learning for children and young people aged 3-16. A New Deal for the Education Workforce will equip education professionals to deliver the new curriculum.


4 purposes

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives

enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work

ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world

healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.


Key elements

The new curriculum will include:

6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16

3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence

progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16

achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.


The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

Expressive arts

Health and well-being

Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)

Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)

Mathematics and numeracy

Science and technology (including computer science).




Below we set out the high level key milestones:


2015 - 2016:           Pioneer Network established

2015 - 2021:        Design and development phase of the new curriculum

July 2016:                All New Deal Pioneer Schools will have developed their individual  

                                  action plans

September 2016:     Digital Competence Framework available

2017 - 2021:           Practical support to schools to prepare for the new curriculum

July 2021:               Nationally, a consistent professional learning offer will be

                                 available to all practitioners across Wales


September 2021:    New curriculum and assessment arrangements available


September 2022:   New curriculum and assessment arrangements in place